Forums >> Web-Comics >> Galaxion

Galaxion



M_Northstar
Grace_chibi_reading
461 posts
Just when you thought you were safe, back I come with yet another comic recommendation. Ladies and gentlemen, feast your eyes on...

Galaxion

Life hasn't quite turned out the way Fusella Mierter envisioned it. Only a few years ago, she was a student at the premier Terran Space Academy on the Moon, surrounded by people of wit and charm. Today, although captain and sole master of the aged-yet-beautiful survey ship Galaxion, she finds herself constantly hen-pecked by an oppressive beaurocracy bent on punishing her for having an opinion and a conscience. Her friends - lanky, charming, ex-boyfriend, Darvin, and zany kid genius Zandarin - have abandoned her in their quest for less tyrannical climes, leaving her to fight against a campaign of assertive negligence.

To top it all off, the Powers That Be have selected her ship as the latest platform for an experimental drive that has already wrecked two previous ships, a politically charged assignment that - and the hits just keep on coming - will require her to relinquish command to a military official of dubious sanity. Can things get any worse?

Well, actually... about that...

You know, if it could just happen that the tech team responsible for the new drive included Fu's old mates, the rumors of the military rep's instability just happened to prove exaggerated, and the experiment just happened to throw Galaxion beyond the fields of known space, beyond the reach of the beaurocrats...

...This could turn out to be just what the doctor ordered.


About:
Galaxion was self-published during the 90's, in the Salmagundi flip-book and a number of collections, where it gathered a devout following. Now, thanks to the Girl-A-Matic branch of Webcomics Nation, it comes to the web with a fresh new look. A treat for fans of Star Trek and Lois McMaster Bujold.


Name: Galaxion
Autor/Artist: Tara Tallan
Updates: 1p/week

Style: Manga influenced European
Format: Black/White, full page
Content: Continuous story
Genre: Science Fiction
rgejman
Rgejman
264 posts
Northstar, would you like to have this ranted?
M_Northstar
Grace_chibi_reading
461 posts
Sure, if nobody minds. I thought about ranting it myself, but I thought it might be too intrusive. But if you think its OK, I'd love to.
rgejman
Rgejman
264 posts
Sure. I'm going to change the subject to "Galaxion"
lance
Nickav6
18 posts
OK! This is just cool. The art is so clean and well composed, the girls are so cute, the backgrounds are so fully rendered. And in a genre that's been so totally mined already, the characters and story are surprisingly engaging.Gotta add it to my list!


edit:
Well here's the first time I'm adding a new subscription or editing a post since the site rebuild. WORKS GREAT! Gawd, I love CN, you guys are awesome.
lance
Nickav6
18 posts
I read this whole thing today. I see Galaxion also has it's own url:
http://www.galaxioncomics.com/
GALAXION
M_Northstar
Grace_chibi_reading
461 posts
Yes, though it's a spanking new site, and last time I checked not everything was fully done. In a week or so, I'll go look around again and see about perhaps moving the CN entry to the new site.

P.S. Glad you enjoyed it. Always happy to be of service, and at least I'm no longer the only reader who'd never heard of the comic before. ;-)
werebus
Default-avatar
29 posts
Looks great. Read all the archives and the two "short stories". Added it to my subscriptions right after that.
geoffreak
Av-10387
95 posts
I find that the artwork is excellent, but the story is very hard to follow.
I can grasp some of it, but it's a bit confusing.
M_Northstar
Grace_chibi_reading
461 posts
Geoffreak, part of that might be that this is the second telling of this story. Like I said, a lot of it had been published before, during the 90's. That said, I actually found the story very straight forward. What was it you found unclear? Perhaps I can help straighten it out.

Then again, when I found the comic those two short prologues were still at the start of the archive, and some of the info there is very important for setting the scene. Maybe if you read the short stories first, then went on to the main archive?
lance
Nickav6
18 posts
I totally understand how Geoffreak felt, the comic hits you with a lot of characters, information, dialog, and a massive backstory and terminology that's often referred to without explanation. I hadda concentrate while reading and be prepared to just blow past what was unclear (although in the girlamatic.com archive the author puts in numerous notes between pages to try to explain stuff or just say it'll become clear later)
eekee
Limekitty
152 posts
Not the first comic I encountered like that. It seemed cute, but I didn't really like it very much.


Forums >> Web-Comics >> Galaxion


Insert link to comic